Top Left Header
Header
Go Home
Opinion
Arrow
Title - The View from Dundas
Follow OurHometown.ca on... Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow us on RSS Follow Us with E-Mail Updates!
Follow Me on TwitterPhillip Blancher is a writer, web geek and communications professional by trade. He has written for a number of publications in Eastern Ontario and Northern New York State and also was a weekly morning show contributor for two area radio stations. As a resident of South Dundas for the last seven years, this long-time political buff has taken on an appreciation of small-town/rural life while also being a father of four and a soccer coach. Blancher's columns on OurHometown.ca will cover a range of his interests from politics, parenthood, local history and on his favourite NHL team, the Buffalo Sabres. If you have questions or wish to contact Phillip, you can email him at pblancher@ourhometown.ca

Wynne
PHOTO CREDIT -
KathleenWynne.ca
Wynne's Magical Money Tour: From Gas Plants to Cheese Plants

Mar. 11, 2014: Spring is in the air, and along with it comes the sweet smell of Liberal handouts. Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne and the Liberal Party machine has handing out taxpayer money again all over Eastern Ontario. Money that the province doesn't have because it is broke. The most recent example of this handout is the one million dollars handed out to the St-Albert Cheese Cooperative on March 10th FULL STORY

Politics heating up in Dundas
PHOTO CREDIT -
OurHometown.ca
Politics heating up in Dundas

Jan. 20, 2014: We are barely two weeks into 2014, and few weeks into nominations for this year's Municipal Elections. Yet things are already heating up here in Dundas County. Already some interesting announcements have taken place making this election some political theater that will be interesting to watch. FULL STORY

Why are we blocked from the river?
PHOTO CREDIT -
OurHometown.ca
Why are we blocked from the river?

Oct. 29, 2013: Why do we have such a lack of connection to our natural waterfront? This is a consequence of the creation of the St. Lawrence Seaway project 55 years ago. A large amount of the land that borders the river is blocked from access. The problem is not just in South Dundas, but also all municipalities which front onto the river. FULL STORY

South Dundas: The Lesser of Six Equals?
PHOTO CREDIT -
Isabell Blancher
South Dundas: The Lesser of Six Equals?

Sep. 17, 2013: Recently at SDG County Council, Township of South Stormont Mayor Bryan McGillis has pushed for an expansion of development lands in that municipality. There is opportunity for that township to increase development there, which at first blush sounds great. However that expansion comes at a detrimental cost to another municipality, making South Dundas the lesser of six equals. FULL STORY

Take development good with the bad
PHOTO CREDIT -
Isabell Blancher
Take development good with the bad

Aug. 8, 2013: Economic development is needed for communities in Eastern Ontario, regardless of size. With aging populations, an industrial base in flux, growing retail competition, all of these are factors that makes development growth essential just to sustain what we have. With every action, there are people or groups for or against it. Sometimes people have to step back, look at the development and take the good with the bad. Looking in at South Dundas, there are two developments that people need to step back and look at. FULL STORY

Optics Matter in Municipal Politics
PHOTO CREDIT -
OurHometown.ca
Optics Matter in Municipal Politics

Jun. 13, 2013: Regardless of what level of government you look at, federal, provincial or municipal, optics matter. How the public perceives the motives and timing of decisions made by government are just as important as the decision itself. Recently we've seen how optics have played out at the federal and provincial levels, but optics are apparent, even in a rural area like South Dundas. FULL STORY

Senate Reform needs to become priority
PHOTO CREDIT -
GlobeandMail.ca
Senate Reform needs to become priority

Jun. 4, 2013: The need for senate reform is more apparent now in Canada at this time, than any time in Canadian history. It's not just the alleged free spending of Senators Wallin and Duffy; nor is it the alleged housing allowance claims by Senators Brazeau, Harb and Duffy. Those are the visible symptoms of the problem of the senate. It is the nature of the Senate body itself that needs changing to cure the disease. FULL STORY

Were we bought, or sold up the river by the Ontario NDP?
PHOTO CREDIT -
Were we bought, or sold up the river by the Ontario NDP?

May. 30, 2013: Dear Readers, we've been bought. Bought off with our own money. Premier Kathleen Wynne and Pseudo-Premier Andrea Horwath, the unofficial leftist-alliance running this province, have bought us off with our own money. Doesn't it feel nice? FULL STORY

Closing Time?
Closing Time?

Apr. 4, 2013: Is it time, once and for all, to close the Cornwall International Border Crossing? Since 2009, the border crossing has been operated out of "temporary" digs at the foot of the Three-Nations International Bridge. There has been little-to-no movement to find and impliment a permanent solution to the issue of location of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) offices, so maybe it's time to just close it and move on. FULL STORY

Will Kathleen Wynne be Ontario
PHOTO CREDIT -
KathleenWynne.ca
Will Kathleen Wynne be Ontario's Paul Martin?

Jan. 29, 2013: In the coming months, premier-designate Kathleen Wynne risks becoming the Paul Martin of Ontario politics; a short term, scandal plagued, "Fall Guy" for the McGuinty machine. Will Wynne's gender or sexual orientation matter to Ontario voters wen it is election time? I don't believe so. FULL STORY


Phillip BLANCHER, The View from Dundas Story Archive
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Phillip BLANCHER, The View from Dundas Story Archive
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44



Follow OurHometown.ca on... Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow us on RSS Follow Us with E-Mail Updates!
Send Us Your Thoughts


Title - Story Count
6,456 Stories & Growing Daily...

To date OurHometown.ca has posted a total of 6,456 stories! News, sports, hockey, lifestyle, opinion and more!

Be sure to check out our Contributors and Columnists archives!

Dubnyk was nothing more than adequate for the Edmonton Oilers in 2013

Title - More OH Headlines
Click on Photo or Story Title for more info
Williamstown Splash Pad Awarded $79,200 OTF Grant
Happy Easter - The Looking Glass
Lone Star welcomes home Windsorites
Cornwall Square issues upate to parking garage work
From pitches to poker: the alternative life of rugby stars
OurHometown.ca News Database Last Updated:
Apr. 22, 2014 @ 6:55 AM EDT






Footer

Free Sitemap Generator