Top Left Header
Header
Opinion
Arrow
Title - Chris Savard
Follow OurHometown.ca on... Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow us on RSS Follow Us with E-Mail Updates!

In his lifetime, Chris Savard has spent time as both an elected official and a hot air balloon pilot. As such, FULL OF HOT AIR seemed to be an appropriate name for this column. Savard will provide his thoughts on a number of topics including sports, politics, local issues and more. His opinion combined with $1.80 will buy you an XL Coffee at Tim's!


SNAPSHOT  - Neighbour knows best
SNAPSHOT - Neighbour knows best

Jul. 4, 2014: On Canada Day weekend, myself and the neighbours to the east and west were out on our docks fishing. My neighbour to the west and I caught nothing but weeds, but our neighbour to the east seemed to be pulling in fish after fish. Tonight after our boat ride, I decided to try my new lure. Ten casts in, I got a hit. Fish jumped out of the water and the jitterbug landed this large mouth bass. FULL STORY

Has Kathleen Wynne given up on Windsor-Essex?
PHOTO CREDIT -
KathleenWynne.ca
Has Kathleen Wynne given up on Windsor-Essex?

Jun. 25, 2014: Yesterday, OurHometown.ca received a media release from Premier Kathleen Wynne and one sentence in particular in the release caught my attention: I will lead an open and transparent government that is guided by integrity and informed by the profound responsibility to make life better for everyone across Ontario – from Kenora to Cornwall to Chatham. FULL STORY

Ontario Election: 101 reasons not to vote for Kathleen Wynne
PHOTO CREDIT -
KathleenWynne.ca
Ontario Election: 101 reasons not to vote for Kathleen Wynne

May. 20, 2014: The reality is that this $5 million in funding for children with special needs is literally a drop in Lake Ontario compared to the wasteful spending practices of the McGunity-Wynne Liberals over the last 11 years. This amount works out to the equivalent of less than $50,000 per riding across the province. FULL STORY

SNAPSHOT - Indigo Bunting at our feeder
SNAPSHOT - Indigo Bunting at our feeder

May. 11, 2014: Today was a beautiful day by Lake St. Clair. We did a little yard work, filled the bird feeders and enjoyed the afternoon by the lake. Literally within minutes of putting up the oriole feeder we had a hummingbird and a Baltimore Oriole stop by. We also saw a large number of American Gold Finches this afternoon - who have not been regular visitors to our feeder. FULL STORY

Waterfront Tank Farm debacle falls on Lauzon’s feet
PHOTO CREDIT -
File Photo
Waterfront Tank Farm debacle falls on Lauzon’s feet

Dec. 11, 2013: There are many people in the City of Cornwall who have expressed displeasure in the Federal Government's decision to re-institute a tank farm along Cornwall's waterfront. As this story unfolds and more manure hits the fan, fingers are pointing in many directions. Interestingly, MP Guy Lauzon seems to have the least amount of fingers pointing towards him and his government which I find surprising. FULL STORY

Ontario Auditor General recommends assistance for children with Autism
Ontario Auditor General recommends assistance for children with Autism

Dec. 10, 2013: Today, Ontario Auditor General Bonnie Lysyk released her 2013 Annual Report and her findings are consistent with the reality that families like ours live everyday - much progress has been made in relation to autism awareness and funding, but much more is required. Tristan will likely receive IBI services sooner than most in the Province, but he will still miss the optimal four year target. FULL STORY

Harbour not a place to return Storage Tanks - MP Lauzon needs to answer
PHOTO CREDIT -
ChooseCornwall.ca
Harbour not a place to return Storage Tanks - MP Lauzon needs to answer

Dec. 5, 2013: I received a disturbing email tonight from a good friend, former Councillor Chuck Charlebois. It is very disappointing to learn that the Federal Government is reinstituting this oil tank farm use on the City's beautiful waterfront. Sadly, it is being reported on TheCornwallDaily.com that both Mayor Bob Kilger and MP Guy Lauzon were “not aware of anything going on there”. FULL STORY

SNAPSHOT -  Bears Trestman following in footsteps of Halas
PHOTO CREDIT -
BearsHistory.com
SNAPSHOT - Bears Trestman following in footsteps of Halas

Sep. 21, 2013: It's GAME DAY! Tonight, the Chicago Bears will take on the Pittsburgh Steelers in Steel City. Marc Trestman appears to be following in the footsteps of Bears legendary coach George Halas. Same hat, same retro glasses and so far - same winning ways! FULL STORY

Eastman raising funds with Bike for United Way
PHOTO CREDIT -
b4uw.ca
Eastman raising funds with Bike for United Way

Sep. 12, 2013: Today, one of our own will embark out on a 650 km journey to raise funds for the United Way. Our Hometown columnist Dean Eastman is participating in the Bike for United Way ride and is currently on his bike after leaving North Bay this morning. FULL STORY

Chicago Bears Post Game - Lovie and Urlacher are missed
PHOTO CREDIT -
ChicagoBears.com
Chicago Bears Post Game - Lovie and Urlacher are missed

Sep. 8, 2013: The Chicago Bears are off to a 1-0 start after a 24-21 victory at Soldier Field against the Cincinnati Bengals. I found it odd watching the Bears game today without former Head Coach Lovie Smith and future Hall of Famer Brian Urlacher. I was disappointed that the team let Lovie go at the end of last season and still believe that Phil Emery made a mistake not giving Urlacher his money and a chance to have a “farewell” season. FULL STORY


SAVARD Archive contains the 50 Most Recent Stories
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
SAVARD Archive contains the 50 Most Recent Stories
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50

Title - Story Count
6,717 Stories & Growing Daily...

To date OurHometown.ca has posted a total of 6,717 stories! News, sports, hockey, lifestyle, opinion and more!

Be sure to check out our Contributors and Columnists archives!

Dubnyk was nothing more than adequate for the Edmonton Oilers in 2013


Title - More OH Headlines
Click on Photo or Story Title for more info
Eugenie Bouchard: A Canadian Superstar in the making
15 year old Grant Quinlan wins first late model race
Lancer women win fourth straight national basketball title
Dufour-Lapointe sisters win gold and silver in Sochi
Regina-born snowboarder, Mark McMorris wins Canada
OurHometown.ca News Database Last Updated:
Jul. 24, 2014 @ 3:53 PM EDT






Footer

Free Sitemap Generator