Top Left Header
Header
Opinion
Arrow
Title - Chris Savard
Follow OurHometown.ca on... Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow us on RSS Follow Us with E-Mail Updates!

In his lifetime, Chris Savard has spent time as both an elected official and a hot air balloon pilot. As such, FULL OF HOT AIR seemed to be an appropriate name for this column. Savard will provide his thoughts on a number of topics including sports, politics, local issues and more. His opinion combined with $1.80 will buy you an XL Coffee at Tim's!


Bald Eagle spotted on the way to school
Bald Eagle spotted on the way to school

Apr. 14, 2015: Each morning, Tristan and I travel west along Wyandotte Street on our way to his school. Last week, we spotted a Bald Eagle in the field behind the Riverside Sportsmen Club in Windsor. There has been a fair bit of media coverage of the eagles that can be spotted in this area. FULL STORY

Judy Bobka will be forever missed
PHOTO CREDIT -
File Photo
Judy Bobka will be forever missed

Apr. 10, 2015: Today, I was deeply saddened to learn of the passing of a great lady, relentless supporter and a dear friend. Judy Bobka passed away yesterday. Our sympathies to her husband Dan, her daughter Sarah and family. Cornwall, SDG, and the province at large has lost a wonderful human. FULL STORY

SNAPSHOT - Brown Creeper near Lake St. Clair
SNAPSHOT - Brown Creeper near Lake St. Clair

Apr. 6, 2015: It has been too long since we have paid attention to our bird feeder. With spring here, we filled the feeder over the weekend and it was a busy few days in the backyard. Today, we saw a Brown Creeper lurking in the trees by Lake St. Clair. While he never made it to the feeder, we were able to catch a small glimpse of him in this out of focus shot. FULL STORY

SNAPSHOT - Golden Crowned Kinglet in Stoney Point
SNAPSHOT - Golden Crowned Kinglet in Stoney Point

Apr. 6, 2015: Today, we saw a Brown Creeper and a Golden Crowned Kinglet in our backyard. Both are new entries into our Bird Journal. We recently filled the feeder in hopes that the Orioles, Cardinals and Blue Jays will return this spring. The golden-crowned kinglet (Regulus satrapa) is a very small songbird. Adults are olive-gray on the upperparts with white underparts, with thin bills and short tails. They have white wing bars, a black stripe through the eyes and a yellow crown surrounded by black. The adult male has an orange patch in the middle of the yellow crown. FULL STORY

SNAPSHOT - Playing possum in Stoney Point
SNAPSHOT - Playing possum in Stoney Point

Mar. 7, 2015: This afternoon when we pulled into our driveway, and we saw this possum sitting on the neighbour's composter. He/she patiently watched us unload the groceries. The possum was also not shy to have his/her photo taken. FULL STORY

SNAPSHOT - Ontario native eyes second Super Bowl ring
PHOTO CREDIT -
APImages.com
SNAPSHOT - Ontario native eyes second Super Bowl ring

Feb. 1, 2015: Lasalle, Ontario native Luke Wilson will attempt to win his second Super Bowl ring today as his Seattle Seahawks take on the New England Patrioits in Super Bowl XLIX. Wilson was a later round pick by Seattle in April of 2013 and now has a chance to win his second Super Bowl in just his second NFL season. Wilson is a Villanova high school product and Essex Ravens product. FULL STORY

SNAPSHOT - Green Heron on the dock
SNAPSHOT - Green Heron on the dock

Jul. 26, 2014: This morning I was standing on the dock and this Green Heron landed on the dock a few doors down. He was fishing for minnows. I grabbed the camera and in my rush, I didn’t get the settings quite right but here are some photos of his visit. Cynthia and I saw him a few weeks ago when we were out for a kayak ride. He came to this dock a couple of times today. FULL STORY

SNAPSHOT  - Neighbour knows best
SNAPSHOT - Neighbour knows best

Jul. 4, 2014: On Canada Day weekend, myself and the neighbours to the east and west were out on our docks fishing. My neighbour to the west and I caught nothing but weeds, but our neighbour to the east seemed to be pulling in fish after fish. Tonight after our boat ride, I decided to try my new lure. Ten casts in, I got a hit. Fish jumped out of the water and the jitterbug landed this large mouth bass. FULL STORY

Has Kathleen Wynne given up on Windsor-Essex?
PHOTO CREDIT -
KathleenWynne.ca
Has Kathleen Wynne given up on Windsor-Essex?

Jun. 25, 2014: Yesterday, OurHometown.ca received a media release from Premier Kathleen Wynne and one sentence in particular in the release caught my attention: I will lead an open and transparent government that is guided by integrity and informed by the profound responsibility to make life better for everyone across Ontario – from Kenora to Cornwall to Chatham. FULL STORY

Ontario Election: 101 reasons not to vote for Kathleen Wynne
PHOTO CREDIT -
KathleenWynne.ca
Ontario Election: 101 reasons not to vote for Kathleen Wynne

May. 20, 2014: The reality is that this $5 million in funding for children with special needs is literally a drop in Lake Ontario compared to the wasteful spending practices of the McGunity-Wynne Liberals over the last 11 years. This amount works out to the equivalent of less than $50,000 per riding across the province. FULL STORY


SAVARD Archive contains the 50 Most Recent Stories
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
SAVARD Archive contains the 50 Most Recent Stories
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50

Title - Story Count
7,605 Stories & Growing Daily...

To date OurHometown.ca has posted a total of 7,605 stories! News, sports, hockey, lifestyle, opinion and more!

Be sure to check out our Contributors and Columnists archives!

Dubnyk was nothing more than adequate for the Edmonton Oilers in 2013


Title - More OH Headlines
Click on Photo or Story Title for more info
Cornwall to host 19th Annual Shorty Jenkins Curling Classic
NBL Canada Board issues fines to Halifax Rainmen
SNAPSHOT - Ontario native eyes second Super Bowl ring
Cincinnati Masters: Federer, Murray remain on course for Quarter-Final showdown
Cincinnati Masters: Bouchard stumbles yet again but shows signs of improvement
OurHometown.ca News Database Last Updated:
Aug. 27, 2015 @ 5:13 PM EDT






Footer
Free Sitemap Generator