Top Left Header
Header
Opinion
Arrow
Title - Chris Savard
Follow OurHometown.ca on... Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow us on RSS Follow Us with E-Mail Updates!

In his lifetime, Chris Savard has spent time as both an elected official and a hot air balloon pilot. As such, FULL OF HOT AIR seemed to be an appropriate name for this column. Savard will provide his thoughts on a number of topics including sports, politics, local issues and more. His opinion combined with $1.80 will buy you an XL Coffee at Tim's!


Waterfront Tank Farm debacle falls on Lauzon’s feet
PHOTO CREDIT -
File Photo
Waterfront Tank Farm debacle falls on Lauzon’s feet

Dec. 11, 2013: There are many people in the City of Cornwall who have expressed displeasure in the Federal Government's decision to re-institute a tank farm along Cornwall's waterfront. As this story unfolds and more manure hits the fan, fingers are pointing in many directions. Interestingly, MP Guy Lauzon seems to have the least amount of fingers pointing towards him and his government which I find surprising. FULL STORY

Ontario Auditor General recommends assistance for children with Autism
Ontario Auditor General recommends assistance for children with Autism

Dec. 10, 2013: Today, Ontario Auditor General Bonnie Lysyk released her 2013 Annual Report and her findings are consistent with the reality that families like ours live everyday - much progress has been made in relation to autism awareness and funding, but much more is required. Tristan will likely receive IBI services sooner than most in the Province, but he will still miss the optimal four year target. FULL STORY

Harbour not a place to return Storage Tanks - MP Lauzon needs to answer
PHOTO CREDIT -
ChooseCornwall.ca
Harbour not a place to return Storage Tanks - MP Lauzon needs to answer

Dec. 5, 2013: I received a disturbing email tonight from a good friend, former Councillor Chuck Charlebois. It is very disappointing to learn that the Federal Government is reinstituting this oil tank farm use on the City's beautiful waterfront. Sadly, it is being reported on TheCornwallDaily.com that both Mayor Bob Kilger and MP Guy Lauzon were “not aware of anything going on there”. FULL STORY

SNAPSHOT -  Bears Trestman following in footsteps of Halas
PHOTO CREDIT -
BearsHistory.com
SNAPSHOT - Bears Trestman following in footsteps of Halas

Sep. 21, 2013: It's GAME DAY! Tonight, the Chicago Bears will take on the Pittsburgh Steelers in Steel City. Marc Trestman appears to be following in the footsteps of Bears legendary coach George Halas. Same hat, same retro glasses and so far - same winning ways! FULL STORY

Eastman raising funds with Bike for United Way
PHOTO CREDIT -
b4uw.ca
Eastman raising funds with Bike for United Way

Sep. 12, 2013: Today, one of our own will embark out on a 650 km journey to raise funds for the United Way. Our Hometown columnist Dean Eastman is participating in the Bike for United Way ride and is currently on his bike after leaving North Bay this morning. FULL STORY

Chicago Bears Post Game - Lovie and Urlacher are missed
PHOTO CREDIT -
ChicagoBears.com
Chicago Bears Post Game - Lovie and Urlacher are missed

Sep. 8, 2013: The Chicago Bears are off to a 1-0 start after a 24-21 victory at Soldier Field against the Cincinnati Bengals. I found it odd watching the Bears game today without former Head Coach Lovie Smith and future Hall of Famer Brian Urlacher. I was disappointed that the team let Lovie go at the end of last season and still believe that Phil Emery made a mistake not giving Urlacher his money and a chance to have a “farewell” season. FULL STORY

Appointing Marignani is the wisest choice for Windsor City Council
PHOTO CREDIT -
OntarioNDP.com
Appointing Marignani is the wisest choice for Windsor City Council

Aug. 26, 2013: Tonight, Windsor City Council will debate how to fill the vacant Ward Seven seat as a result of the departure of Councillor Percy Hatfield. Hatfield was recently elected to Queen’s Park as an NDP member in the provincial by-election in Windsor-Tecumseh. Mayor Eddie Francis and his colleagues will have three choices in terms of dealing with the vacant seat. FULL STORY

SNAPSHOT - Turtles sunning on Lake St. Clair
SNAPSHOT - Turtles sunning on Lake St. Clair

Aug. 19, 2013: Our neighbour Nelson, has a couple rocks in Lake St. Clair just in front of his house. It seems that each time that we head down to our beach, we are lucky enough to see two or three turtles perched on top of these rocks, soaking in the sun. Recently, we were heading out on a little kayak trip and that provided me with an opportunity to get a shot of this guy. Judging by the photo, he was as interested in us as we were in him. FULL STORY

SNAPSHOT - Egrets, Herons and our kayaks
SNAPSHOT - Egrets, Herons and our kayaks

Aug. 19, 2013: On the final day of what has been a great vacation, Cynthia and I went for a kayak ride on Lake St. Clair. Just east of our home is Tremblay Beach Conservation Area and it is typically abundant with wildlife. Today was no exception, as we got nice and close to both a Great Blue Heron and a Great Egret. FULL STORY

SNAPSHOT - Belted Kingfisher on our dock
SNAPSHOT - Belted Kingfisher on our dock

Aug. 19, 2013: My morning routine is pretty consistent - wake up, start the coffee and look out at the lake. This weekend, when I looked out I spotted this Belted Kingfisher perched on our dock, looking for his breakfast. It was the first time that I have ever seen a Kingfisher. FULL STORY


SAVARD Archive contains the 50 Most Recent Stories
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
SAVARD Archive contains the 50 Most Recent Stories
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50

Title - Story Count
6,449 Stories & Growing Daily...

To date OurHometown.ca has posted a total of 6,449 stories! News, sports, hockey, lifestyle, opinion and more!

Be sure to check out our Contributors and Columnists archives!

Dubnyk was nothing more than adequate for the Edmonton Oilers in 2013


Title - More OH Headlines
Click on Photo or Story Title for more info
Lancer women win fourth straight national basketball title
Dufour-Lapointe sisters win gold and silver in Sochi
Regina-born snowboarder, Mark McMorris wins Canada
Regina-born snowboarder, Mark McMorris wins Canada
Could 2017 be the year Tim Raines goes into Cooperstown?
OurHometown.ca News Database Last Updated:
Apr. 15, 2014 @ 7:19 AM EDT






Footer

Free Sitemap Generator